Health and Mental Health Resources

National Institute of Health: http://health.nih.gov/
National Institute of Mental Health: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/index.shtml
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/
Healthline: http://www.healthline.com/
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: http://www.samhsa.gov/
National Institute on Drug Abuse: http://www.drugabuse.gov/
Mental Help https://www.mentalhelp.net/
World Health Organization (Mental Health): http://www.who.int/mental_health/en/
Mental Health Matters: http://mental-health-matters.com/
Each Mind Matters (California’s Mental Health Movement): http://www.eachmindmatters.org/
National Institutes of Health The Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research: http://obssr.od.nih.gov/index.aspx
U.S. Surgeon General’s 1999 Report on Mental Health: http://profiles.nlm.nih.gov/ps/access/NNBBHS.pdf

Minority Health

Minority Health Indicators: http://kff.org/state-category/minority-health/
Office of Minority Health: http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov/
Center for Disease Control and Prevention’s Office of Minority Health & Health Equity: http://www.cdc.gov/minorityhealth/OMHHE.html
U.S. Census Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin, 2010: http://www.census.gov/prod/cen2010/briefs/c2010br-02.pdf
Clinical Psychology of Ethnic Minorities: http://www.apa.org/divisions/div12/sections/section6/
HealthTalkOnline (Mental Health: Ethnic Minority Experiences): http://www.healthtalk.org/peoples-experiences/mental-health/mental-health-ethnic-minority-experiences/topics
Health Policy Institute’s Organizing to Address Mental Health Disparities: A Directory of State and Local Initiatives: http://www.prrac.org/pdf/HealthDirectory.pdf

Stigma and Mental Health:

Mayo Clinic (Mental Illness): http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/mental-illness/in-depth/mental-health/art-20046477
Psychology Today (Mental Health and Stigma): https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/why-we-worry/201308/mental-health-stigma

Suicide Prevention:

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention: https://www.afsp.org/
Help Guide: http://www.helpguide.org/home-pages/suicide-prevention.htm
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Cultural Competency & Diversity:

American Psychological Association’s Guidelines for Providers of Psychological Services to Ethnic, Linguistic, and Culturally Diverse Populations: http://www.apa.org/pi/oema/resources/policy/provider-guidelines.aspx
National Association of Social Workers: https://www.socialworkers.org/pressroom/features/issue/diversity.asp
National Institutes of Health National Library of Medicine: http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/outreach/multicultural.html#a
Establishing Standards for Culturally Competent Care: http://www.healio.com/psychiatry/journals/jpn/2012-7-50-7/%7B543bb6d7-3d57-4a71-91eb-dfa96e5541f1%7D/establishing-standards-for-culturally-competent-mental-health-care
American Psychological Assocation (Immigration): http://www.apa.org/topics/immigration/index.aspx
American Psychological Association (Health Disparities): http://www.apa.org/topics/health-disparities/index.aspx

Orange County Resources:

Orange County Community Resources and Directories for Referral and Linkages: http://www.ochealthinfo.com/bhs/about/pi/resources#resource
Health Care Agency: http://ochealthinfo.com/
Orange County’s First District:  http://ocgov.com/gov/bos/1
Orange County’s Second District: http://ocgov.com/gov/bos/2
Orange County’s Third District:  http://ocgov.com/gov/bos/3
Orange County’s Fourth District: http://ocgov.com/gov/bos/4
Orange County’s Fifth District: http://ocgov.com/gov/bos/5
Orange County Demographics: http://www.fullerton.edu/cdr/demographics/

Additional Resources

Drug and Alcohol Abuse in Santa Ana, CA: http://www.recovery.org/browse/santa-ana-ca/
Santa Ana Drug Abuse Treatment Programs: http://drugabuse.com/usa/drug-abuse/santa-ana-ca/